Madison - St. Clair Record

Friday, September 20, 2019

Names of 46 applicants for five associate vacancies released; Judges who were not re-appointed have reapplied

By Ann Maher | Jul 14, 2015


Forty-six attorneys have filed applications for five associate judge vacancies in the Third Judicial Circuit, including the ones who were not re-appointed to terms that would have begun July 1 - Duane L. Bailey, Ben L. Beyers, II, Donald M. Flack, David Grounds and Elizabeth Levy.  

Their chances have improved in a way, for retention requires votes from three fifths of circuit judges and appointment requires a simple majority. 

On the other hand, they must compete with a crowd of candidates that includes familiar figures in the courthouse. 

Marleen Suarez, who lost a race for Madison County treasurer last year, applied. 

So did Peter Maag and Thomas Maag, sons of former Fifth District appellate judge Gordon Maag. 

So did Allyson Romani, daughter of retired circuit judge Charles Romani. 

As the circuit judges sift through applications, they can expect scrutiny from the Alton chapter of the national group One Hundred Black Men. 

The group suspects that circuit judges denied retention to five as a smokescreen for denying it to Bailey and Beyers, both Black. 

The group claimed the circuit judges should bring the others back by appointment. 

Hylla did not respond to a request for a comment on a letter the group sent him.

The other applicants, in alphabetical order are:

John R. Abell; Roy D. Anderson, Christopher J.T. Bauer, Erin L. Beavers, Timothy D. Berkley, Michael J. Brunton. Ellen R. Burford, Rodney D. Caffey. Jeffery A. Cain, John R. Daugherty, Christopher M. Donohoo, James M. Drazen, David W. Dugan, David J. Ezra, Derek L. Filcoff, Clifton L. Flex, Janel L. Freeman, Jennifer L. Hightower, Eric D. Jackstadt, Anthony R. Jumper, Amy Maher, Edward T. McCarthy, Andrew J. Miofsky, Heather L. Mueller-Jones, Marc W. Parker, Maureen D. Schuette, Amy E. Sholar, Darren K. Short, Luther W. Simmons, Katherine M. Smith, Sarah D. Smith, Judy Kay Steele, Kelly C. Sullivan, Kerry T. Taplin, Suzanne M. Vogel, Mary Beth Williams and Leslie A. Wood.

(Steve Korris contributed to this report). 

Want to get notified whenever we write about ?

Sign-up Next time we write about , we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

More News