Illinois Supreme Court Justice Lloyd A. Karmeier will administer the attorney's oath when 108 new lawyers are admitted to practice in ceremonies in Carbondale on Nov. 10.

The group is among 2,155 men and women who were certified as candidates and will be sworn in as Illinois attorneys at ceremonies in the state's five Supreme Court judicial districts.

The Carbondale program in the Fifth Judicial District will begin at 2 p.m. in the auditorium of the Lesar School of Law Building, located on the campus of Southern Illinois University.

Karmeier will preside over the ceremony and welcome the members of the class to the practice of law.

SIU School of Law Dean Cynthia Fountaine will be the opening speaker.

John E. Theis, president-elect of the Illinois State Bar Association, will serve as the keynote speaker. Theis is partner with the Urbana firm of Webber & Theis, P.C.

St. Clair County Chief Judge John Baricevic will make the motion to admit the class. Circuit Judge James W. Campanella from the 20th Judicial Circuit will second the motion to admit the class.

Edwardsville attorney Jeffrey S. Hebrank will speak in support of the motion to admit the class.

Other guests of the Supreme Court will be: Circuit Judges Everett D. Kimmel from the Second Judicial Circuit and Carolyn Bailey Smoot from the First Judicial Circuit.

A reception will follow.

All of the candidates have passed the Illinois State Bar Examination and an ethics examination; and were certified by the Committee on Character and Fitness.

The new attorneys will bring the total number of licensed attorneys in Illinois to approximately 90,200.

The counties in the Fifth Judicial District are: Alexander, Bond, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Crawford, Edwards, Effingham, Fayette, Franklin, Gallatin, Hamilton, Hardin, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, John-son, Lawrence, Madison, Marion, Massac, Monroe, Montgomery, Perry, Pope, Pulaski, Randolph, Richland, Saline, Shelby, St. Clair, Union, Wabash, Washington, Wayne, White and Williamson.
Ceremonies in the other districts will be held in Chicago, Springfield, Rock Island and Elgin.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois Supreme Court ?
Next time we write about Illinois Supreme Court, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois Supreme Court

More News