Twelve judges from the Madison County courts are spending the week in Chicago to attend a conference to fulfill a Supreme Court requirement that all associate, circuit and appellate judges in the state take 30 hours of continuing judicial education over a two-year period.

Judges Dennis Ruth, William Mudge, Ann Callis, Andreas Matoesian, David Hylla, Richard Tognarelli, Clarence Harrison, Duane Bailey, Kyle Napp, Dean Sweet, Keith Jensen and Janet Heflin are attending.

Illinois Supreme Court Spokesman Joseph Tybor did not disclose the location of the seminar for security reasons, nor did he disclose its cost.

The conference features 62 course programs in criminal and civil law and procedure, family law and procedure; judicial conduct, ethics and professionalism. The courses are presented over a five-day period, and many are repeated throughout the week.

The education conference is divided into two one-week periods. About half of the state's 900 judges attend one week; and the other half attend the other week.

The first conference this year was held in Chicago in January.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois Supreme Court ?
Next time we write about Illinois Supreme Court, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois Supreme Court

More News