County offices and the courts in Madison and St. Clair counties will be closed Monday for the Independence Day holiday.

They will re-open July 5 for normal business hours.

July 4 is a federal holiday celebrating the signing of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776 in Philadelphia by the members of the Second Continental Congress.

The American Revolution effectively ended with the surrender of General Charles Cornwallis at Yorktown, Va. in October 1781.

More News