Duane Bailey

Madison County Chief Judge Ann Callis has officially given notice to members of the bar that a vacancy exists for an associate judge position following the election of Circuit Judge Barbara Crowder.

Crowder defeated fellow Associate Judge Jim Hackett in the November election to replace retired Judge George Moran Jr.

Applicants have until Jan. 11 to submit applications to the director of the Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts.

The last associate judge appointed by Third Circuit judges was Steve Stobbs. His position was created by the Illinois Supreme Court which authorized an additional 26 associate judgeships statewide due to population gains.

Applicants for that position included Martin Mengarelli, Dennis Orsey, Edwin Potter, Maureen Schuette, Paul Welch, Mary M. Albert-Fritz, Scott Cain, Amy Chapman, John Haynes, Eric Jackstadt, Robert Larson, Amy Maher and Larry Calvo.

If no candidate receives the majority of at least five votes in a first round of voting, a second balloting takes place for the top contenders.

Prior to Stobbs, the last time an associate judge position became available in the Third Circuit happened upon the retirement of Judge Lola Maddox on Nov. 30, 2004. At that time, 14 area attorneys took out applications:

Stephen Stobbs, David Hylla, Duane Bailey, Donald Flack, Allen Gilliard, Jr., John Haynes, Janet Rae Heflin, Keith Jensen, Susan Jensen, Robert Larson, Martin Mengarelli, Dennis Orsey, John Rekowski and Greg Roosevelt.

Heflin, an Edwardsville family law attorney, received at least five votes on a first ballot to earn the associate judge title.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois Supreme Court ?
Next time we write about Illinois Supreme Court, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois Supreme Court

More News