To the editor:

The tort reform battle in Madison and St. Clair Counties is not over. We elected Justice Lloyd Karmeier to the Illinois State Supreme Court and passed important and, hopefully, effective tort reform legislation in Illinois.

We had courageous, bipartisan support from State Senators William Haine, Frank C. Watson, David Luechtefeld and James F. Clayborne, Jr., and State Representatives Dan Beiser, Jim Watson, Tom Holbrook, and Ron Stephens.

Wyvetter H. Younge voted against tort reform. Jay Hoffmann of Collinsville fought against it until the last moment. Hoffmann then proposed SB1911, which would have seriously undercut the effectiveness of the new tort reform law.

Justice Karmeier appointed Stephen McGlynn to the 5th Appellate Court, Donald Weber to the 3rd judicial circuit court, and William Norton to the 20th judicial circuit court. Paul Evans is running for a seat in the 20th circuit judicial court, also. Each of these appointees now stand for election in November, as does Third Circuit Associate Judge James Hackett. Election of these judges is imperative to restoring fairness and balance to our appellate and circuit courts.

In addition, we must elect Carol Kugler and Dennis Bielke to replace Hoffmann and Younge in the Illinois House of Representatives. SB1911 was defeated, but Representative Hoffmann is a nemesis to all who want fair medical malpractice tort reform.

We must have judicial and legislative stability before we can rebuild our medical communities. Success in the November election is critical.

This is a battle against injustice, and "IT ISN'T OVER."

Robert F. Hamilton, M.D.

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois House of Representatives ?

Sign-up Next time we write about Illinois House of Representatives, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois House of Representatives

More News

The Record Network