SDIL will host ceremonial congressional swearing-in event; Open to the public

By Heather Isringhausen Gvillo | Jan 19, 2015

Chief U.S. District Judge Michael J. Reagan announced that the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Illinois will host a ceremonial swearing-in event for local Congressmen elected to the U.S. House of Representatives in November.

The ceremony will be held at 10:30 a.m. on Friday, Jan. 30, at the Benton Civic Center, located at 414 West Hudelson Street in Benton.

During the event, Congressmen John Shimkus, Rodney Davis Mike Bost will take a ceremonial oath of office before their constituents, family and friends.

The congressmen took the official oath of office on Jan. 6 in Washington, D.C. However, the ceremonial oath will be open to the public.

Shimkus, a Republican from Collinsville, represents the 15th District and is returning for his 10th term in the House of Representatives. He won re-election over Democrat Eric Thorsland. Shimkus received 166,274 votes to Thorsland’s 55,652 votes.

Shimkus is a senior member of the House Energy and Commerce Committee and chairman of its subcommittee on Environment and the Economy. He also serves on the Energy and Power, Health and Communication and Technology subcommittees.

Davis, a Republican from Taylorville, represents the 13th District and is returning for his second term in the House of Representatives. Davis was re-elected after easily defeating former Madison County chief judge Ann Callis. Davis received 122,661 votes to Callis’s 86,126 votes.

Davis serves on the House Agriculture Committee and Transportation and Infrastructure Committee.

Newcomer Bost represents the 12th District and started his first term in the House of Representatives. He earned his seat in the House after beating Democrat Bill Enyart. Bost received 110,038 votes to Enyart’s 87,860 votes.

Bost, a Republican from Murphysboro, serves on three committees: Agriculture, Veterans’ Affairs and Small Business.

The congressmen represent portions of the Southern District of Illinois, which is one of three federal judicial districts in Illinois and is comprised of the 38 southernmost counties.

More News

The Record Network