Illinois Supreme Court Justices Lloyd Karmeier and Charles Freeman will be among 18 judges and lawyers who will be honored by the Profession of Leadership Foundation at a dinner on Tuesday, Jan. 13 at the President Abraham Lincoln Hotel & Conference Center, 701 E. Adams St., in Springfield.

The honorees have practiced law for at least 50 years.

Guest speakers will include Illinois Supreme Court Chief Justice Rita B. Garman and attorney James M. Lestikow of Springfield, president of the Illinois Bar Foundation. The foundation, which is the charitable arm of the Illinois State Bar Association, distributes funding to nonprofit organizations whose mission is to ensure meaningful access to the justice system for those with limited means.

Others to be honored, who all hail from Springfield, are:

Herman G. Bodewes
Verne H. Evans
W. Joseph Gibbs
Richard A. Hollis
Robert T. Lawley
U.S. District Judge Richard Mills of the Central District of Illinois
Robert S. Cohen
Hugh J. Graham, III
Thomas F. Londrigan
Paul E. Presney
Michael J. Costello
Donald H. Funk
Carl O. Hoffee
George W. Kenney
Richard L. Lott
Harvey B. Stevens

The fundraiser is being organized by the Sangamon County Bar Association, Government Bar Association, Central Illinois Women’s Bar Association, Lincoln-Douglas American Inn of Court, Illinois State Bar Association and the Illinois Institute for Continuing Legal Education. Proceeds from the event will be donated to the Illinois Bar Foundation.

Individual tickets are $50 or a table of eight is $600. For more information or to purchase tickets, contact Jennifer Ascher at (217) 544-1144 or The Illinois Bar Foundation is headquartered at 20 S. Clark St., Suite 910, Chicago, IL  60603. Information also is available at

Want to get notified whenever we write about Illinois Supreme Court ?
Next time we write about Illinois Supreme Court, we'll email you a link to the story. You may edit your settings or unsubscribe at any time.

Organizations in this Story

Illinois Supreme Court

More News